Home » Culture of Corruption » Respect those that Oppose Us

Respect those that Oppose Us

rainbow1

I was recently very honored to view a report dedicated to me,  by someone who goes under the ID of OldSchool,  a person I found on the opposing side of my political beliefs during this past election.

Remembering some of our past battles brings a smile to my face, as we were both hard-headed and passionate about what we considered to be the right direction  for our nation and could argue for hours on end.  What I truly treasure from those respectful exchanges of ideology was the moment when common ground was found and we discovered that we were not so different as we had thought.

Our hearts were in the right place—we were in the same boat, regardless of  our beliefs or the politicians that fraudulently claim to have any understanding of what we really feel or think is best for us. We were both Americans. Not race divided, just plain and simple Americans that loved our country and wanted what was best for our Nation.

We did not need our government to tell us how we feel or how to think. We already KNEW what was best for us and those corrupt ones, imo,  cared only about getting elected and carrying on their own agenda that benefited themselves.

I was raised that there are two things one should never bring up in polite conversation, Politics and Religion, because No two subjects can get people more riled up or cause absolute chaos as  these two things.

Boy are these true words! But both subjects that very much need to be embraced and discussed today. If Americans continue to “keep silent” because of the controversy over these two subjects, how will they ever understand or even realize to research for the truth of what is really going on in America and/or how the governing policies will affect them?

Changing ones point of view is not an easy task, and that was never my intention when I debated someone with opposing pov, but done only to bring about an awareness that some things may not be as we thought and believed. In the process of debating and researching the issues, I’ve learned allot and discovered that at times I was wrong about some of the issues. Overall, The media of late,  is good at only telling ONE side or use sound bites to promote their POV agenda and not allow the individual to decide what is real or not–but that awareness should inspire us to research further to discover the truth for ourselves.

It is amazing to find in the debating stages, how another person that we normally may be so intune with on everyday things, can suddenly not agree nor believe how we do about the way our government should be run. The common ground that once was well defined and secure in a relationship, can fall out from under us and explode into a full-frontal attack!

I found firsthand during this past election, that some tactics came fully equipped with hateful personal insults, such as being called a  racist, bigot, white-trash, trailer park trash, Neo-con, Nazi, red-neck, meth-head, drug addict, terrorist, extremist, loon, right-wingnut, birther, hater, homophobe, Bible-thumper, slaver, etc…the list is long of the many insults, but I think you get the drift here. I’ll also add the Stealth accounts where my ID and avatar was stolen several times and used in vicious attacks by those posing as me and the Stalker, that collected and saved my conversations for months with others, in order to use it to make themself  ‘appear” as me. LOL…the sick freak!

Why the heck does this happen and why do so many people take opposing views and ideology so personally, some even viciously?

As I  see it,  some consider politics to hold core values about the way they were raised and believe life should be, so when someone disagrees with us about politics, we sometimes feel they are basically arguing with our beliefs and how we were raised and our life experiences.

To carry this opposition to the extreme,   vicious disrespectful attacks are done out of hate and fear mongering from special interest groups, which is then passed on down the line to incite anger and discontent to those of brainwashed mentalities,  in order to push their own selfish agendas.

However, this report is not written to address the wrong done to me, but instead in recognition to those that I  met and who debated me respectfully with opposing view points.  Fellow Americans  like OldSchool, who with compassion and an open-mind, choose to discuss the issues as a decent human being, and NOT take the low road of the bottom feeders, who failed daily and repeatedly to stomp out my point of view.

I wish to say I SALUTE and ADMIRE YOU.

It was  a great pleasure to know and be a part of your lives for a short while, even though we fought like cats and dogs at times,  those good respectful debates are missed and I wish you well my fellow Ex-Ireporters.

LisaInTX

Below are a few honorable mentions:

Bonez,  Always ready with his own style of sarcasm–

MartinT, though an Atheist–Boy did we have some fights over Separation of Church and State the MYTH! lol– we found a connection for a short while, but then he joined the Obama Haters Club and lost it.

Mech–we seldom ever agreed about things, but showed each other respect for the most part.

Posted by: oldschool61 // 2 weeks ago // viewed 61 times
Jersey Shore, New Jersey
Last updated: 2 weeks ago

“I am considered to be politically left of center and by some a racist Black American (I disagree with the second point).  Lately I have been feeling the void of iReporters gone by the wayside. My respected adversary that I miss most is LisaInTX.  I used to have long debates, sometimes into the late evening with her, it was almost romantic  :-0.  We were always on opposing sides of the issue and at different ends of the spectrum.  She used to come out with reports that could enflame half the country, I guess I do the same.  Many times I would just wonder what could possibly motivate her, but then what motivates me.  Some people thought she was mean spirited, I have heard that about myself.  I just called her “spirited” though, and I miss the political diversity that used to be here at iReport.com.  For all her controversy LisaInTX (and all the Lisa’s) is an American who speaks out and stands for what she believes in.  I don’t agree with most of what comes out of her, in fact I vehemently oppose it, but I believe in her right to express it.  Her blog can be viewed at wordpress.com.  I refuse to paste her link here because I don’t want to make it easy for anyone find her. That said, I miss LisaInTX and her brand of commentary and reporting.
http://www.ireport.com/docs/DOC-257280

11 thoughts on “Respect those that Oppose Us

  1. Lisa = Just discovered your blog and wanted my first comment to be here where you have tapped into a core belief of mine. I have had old School show up on several of my posts and he always challenges me in good ways. I feel as you do about him and I am delighted that the man I thought was there IS.

    Most of all, your comments on the value of debate – especially with those that may disagree with you is something I believe in right in my heart. I wanted to blog with VF and the gang because while many of their views and mine were not often close, the wonderful writing and intellect of the bloggers made for a wonderful challenge to participate and so I signed on. Lo and behold, I, too have found some new beliefs; my old ones are respectfully tolerated. We have come to the same conclusion. It is wonderful to share this view with you, friend.

    • SamHenry
      Thank you for your very nice comment. Tolerance and respect for others was ingrained in me during my childhood and sounds like yours and Old Schools also. That, I think is the difference with us. We were taught that people are different and that was okay. Who wants everyone to be the same? How boring life would be if we are were nothing but robots, programmed to say and act on command.

  2. The “Left” cares only about control and suppressing our point of view in most cases, and even resort to frivolous threats of ‘turning folks in to the powers that be”, a tactic straight out of Hitlers nightmare game book.
    It is also very rare to find any that will actually debate the issues without resorting to personal attacks. Least that has been my experience thus far.
    They respect you ONLY IF you agree with EVERYTHING they say. Sorry but we don’t buy into the zombie moonbat agenda here. LMAO

  3. Hi Arlene
    I agree. Life would be so very boring if we all agreed on everything. It would be a society made up of robots instead of human beings.
    Mech was very hard to figure out. He would bite into me, but then PM saying he hoped I did not take it the wrong way. He really was very sweet.
    If I remember right, he was banned at the same time that MartinT was.
    I was blamed for their banning, but I had NOTHING to do with getting ANYONE banned except the STEALTH and STALKING ID trolls.
    I never wanted the ‘ban-stick’ of CNN to be increased and stated as much at the RoundTable meetings….this increase can be put mainly at the feet of the Lib’s that wanted it at that time.

    “Be careful what you wish for, cause you might just get it.”
    They did not think that ban-stick would swing their way, but it did, as was only right.
    i also had to problem with those ‘one star bandits’ that so many were whining about all the time. Hey I got hit ALL the time—who cared??? Not me—LMAO…just showed how silly and ridiculously immature some folks were.
    Now I did enjoy seeing that little red star next to my ID though. It separates the newbies from those that had been in the community longer, and I found it helped the newbies to have someone they could look to for help within the community on occasion.
    OCGirl was one, that I tried to watch over and sent her DavidW email link to in order to seek help to fight off the personal attacks on her reports. I’m sad that she too is gone.

  4. Lisa
    I must also add, that sometimes folks are different online than they are in real life. Words don’t have meaning … People Do.

  5. What would this world be if everyone agree w/each other? Answer: It would be boring and unchallenged.

    Even some folks who I disagree w/on blogs, does not necessarily mean I don’t like them. In fact, I have disagreed w/folks who I do adore.

    One of the folks you mentioned, namely mech is an ireporter who I had numerous healthy debates with. What ever happened to him ? He used to exasperate me. We did differ on political views, but when the debate ended, we pm each other on friendly terms. He is one of the very FEW people I differed w/who I miss the most. And when I say “miss” I mean it endearingly.

    • Hey Karma. Thank you kindly and I totally understand. Been very busy myself. Hope all is well with you—we just keep missing each other.

Comments are closed.